The Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission (Tobacco Commission) established a program in 2002 to offer assistance with a Bachelor’s degree and therefore strengthen the economies of Southwest (SW) and Southside (SS) Virginia through education and training of its citizens. For the 2017-2018 academic year, new recipients will be applying for a loan with terms offered to earn forgiveness after graduation. Please click on “Program Information” above to learn more. Residents of SW (Brown) or SS (Blue) localities enrolled in a Bachelor’s degree program at an accredited 4-year college or university, in-state or out-of-state, can submit an application. Residents of the counties shaded in yellow are not eligible to apply.
Application portal for 2017-18 online applications will open Monday, April 10, 2017, at 12 o’clock noon, and close Friday, May 12, 2017. Documents due by Friday, May 26, 2017.
  • Students who received an award for 2016-17 academic year will be awarded under same scholarship rules for 2017-18.
  • Important – Students who did not receive an award payment in 2016-17 will be applying for a forgiveness loan for 2017-18. Terms to earn forgiveness and other provisions are provided in the Master Promissory Note under “Program Information”. Please read prior to applying.
  • All new and returning applicants must submit an online application and documents by the deadlines posted.

RETURNING APPLICANTS:  Click the LOGIN menu above. NEW APPLICANTS: Click anywhere on the state map below to begin.